When Your Obsession Becomes Your Profession

I come from a family of four kids: I have two brothers and one sister. Collectively, my family is my world. Growing up my dad would take us hunting and fishing. Over time, my sister and I gravitated toward trips with mom since the boys started to take very intense excursions (battling the elements and not showering for days).

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 12.12.06 PM

My dad & his record-breaking musky

They started young. My brothers shared this passion for hunting and fishing that grew exponentially as the years passed. Eventually, they became known for it. High school rolled around and whenever anyone wanted to take a trip–even if just for the afternoon, they’d call up Parker and Cole. My parents began to worry. Are their priorities in check? Do they realize they need to go to college and get a job? Their other activities began to cut into the time they could spend outdoors: “Mom, can I skip my basketball tournament this weekend? It’s opener of fishing!”

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 12.11.26 PM

As their passion became an obsession, it branched off into other hobbies. They created an Instagram account, and posted pictures of their limit of geese or catch of the day. People liked it–they even wanted more.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 12.13.46 PM

After a year or so of keeping up this account my brothers realized they needed an identity, and thus, iGrind Outdoors was born. I hopped on Canva.com and made a logo to put a face to their new name.

unspecified

iGrind Outdoors: Eat. Sleep. Grind. Repeat.

Today, their account has about 7,000 followers and is growing rapidly. We plan to make t-shirts with their name and logo to sell on the account this Spring. Although it’s not their full-time profession yet, I see my brothers finding a job in the outdoor industry in the future. When your passion becomes your profession, you never have to work a day in your life.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 12.14.43 PM

3 thoughts on “When Your Obsession Becomes Your Profession

Leave a Reply

